Skip to main content
Headshot for Iris Ng
Hot Docs News

Hot Docs to Celebrate Canadian Cinematographer Iris Ng with Focus On Program at 2024 Festival

Hot Docs Festival 2024 will honour Canadian cinematographer Iris Ng through its annual Focus On program, spotlighting the remarkable work of Canadian filmmakers and craftspeople who have left an indelible mark on the documentary landscape, showcasing their invaluable contributions to the art form.

Iris Ng’s notable work turns a critical lens on social justice, marginalised communities, and the process of filmmaking itself. Her body of work includes the Oscar-shortlisted documentaries Stories We Tell (D: Sarah Polley | 2012) and Shirkers (D: Sandi Tan | 2018), as well as the award-winning films One Of Ours (D: Yasmine Mathurin | 2021), Toxic Beauty (D: Phyllis Ellis | 2019), Migrant Dreams (D: Min Sook Lee | 2017), short film This River (D: Erika MacPherson, Katherena Vermette | 2017) and Primetime Emmy Award-winning series Making A Murderer (2015, 2018).

Ng has collaborated with acclaimed filmmakers, including Fredrik Gertten, Vikram Jayanti, Richard Fung, Jennifer Holness, Alexis Bloom, Michelle Sheppard, Ann Shin, Tiffany Hsiung, and Rama Rau; and has worked on films for artists Chris Curreri, Oliver Husain, Luis Jacob, and Bambitchell. More recently, Ng shared a credit on the Hot Docs Festival 2023 Opening Night film Twice Colonized (D: Lin Alluna | 2023) and shot Netflix/Jigsaw Productions' Money Shot: The PornHub Story (D: Suzanne Hillinger | 2023). She also balances her work with scripted web series and shows, having lensed two seasons of the CBC primetime scripted series Strays, the cameo-packed web series Hey Lady! and numerous short films.

Past Focus On honourees include Elizabeth Klinck (2023), Raymonde Provencher (2022), Julia Ivanova (2019), John Walker (2018), Maya Gallus (2017), Rosie Dransfeld (2016), Carole Laganière (2015), John Zaritsky (2014), Peter Mettler (2013), John Kastner (2012), Alan Zweig (2011), Tahani Rached (2010), Ron Mann (2009), Jennifer Baichwal (2008), Kevin McMahon (2007), Serge Giguère (2006), Larry Weinstein (2005), Nettie Wild (2004), Shelley Saywell (2003) and Zacharias Kunuk (2002).

Get the latest from Hot Docs

Sign up for e-news and keep up to date with the latest from Hot Docs and Hot Docs Ted Rogers Cinema.
  • Advance notices about upcoming films
  • The latest on festival dates and tickets
  • Customize your preferences
  • Unsubscribe at any time
Sign up